Body Of Work 1978-1988

5CD £23.99
  • UPC: 0600753754009
  • Release Date: 08 September 2017


Label Review.

2017 Album.

Our Overview.

The omnipresent talent of Godley and Creme can be identified for their time spent as one-half of 10CC, their pop-duo exploits and for their pioneering promo-video techniques, at a time when radio was shifting to Video Promotion. They would frequently have a raft of pop/rock artists from Herbie Hancock, Duran Duran, Police, Toyah to Frankie goes to Hollywood frequently knocking on the studio doors of the all-singing multi-instrumentalists-cum-video directors, to turn around their fortunes.

After leaving 10CC in 1976, they intended to abandon mainstream pop in favour of a more elaborate project. The result was a staggeringly overblown triple album Consequences, whose concept was nothing less than ‘The Story Of Man’s Last Defence Against An Irate Nature’. The work was lampooned in the music press, as was the duo’s invention of a new musical instrument the ‘Gizmo’ gadget, which had been used on the album. As their frustrated manager Harvey Lisberg sagely noted: “They turned their back on huge success. They were brilliant, innovative - and what did they do? A triple album that goes on forever and became a disaster”. An edited version of the work was later issued but also failed to sell.

However the duo reverted to a more accessible and approach for their subsequent albums. ‘Body Of Work 1978-1988’ is a 5 CD box set collecting Godley & Creme's brilliant output for the Polydor label between this time. 

Featuring ‘L’, ‘Freeze Frame’, ‘Ismism’, ‘Birds Of Prey’, ‘The History Mix Volume 1’ and ‘Goodbye Blue Sky’, the set has mastered by Andy Pearce, approved by Kevin and Lol and includes a selection of B-sides and extended mixes. Guest performances come courtesy of Andy Mackay (L), Phil Manzanera (Freeze Frame), Trevor Horn (The History Mix Volume 1) and Mark Feltham (Goodbye Blue Sky).The booklet and box set has been designed by Kevin Godley and features 2017 interviews with both members conducted by Mojo’s Daryl Easlea.

Track List:

CD 1

1. The Sporting Life

2. Sandwiches of You

3. Art School Canteen

4. Group Life

5. Punchbag

6. Foreign Accents

7. Hit Factory/Business Is Business

8. An Englishman In New York

9. Random Brainwave

10. I Pity Inanimate Objects

11. Freeze Frame

12. Clues

13. Brazilia (Wish You Were Here)

14. MugshotsGet Well Soon

CD 2

1. Snack Attack

2. Under Your Thumb

3. Joey’s Came

4. lThe Problem

5. Ready for Ralph

6. Wedding Bells

7. Lonnie

8. Sale of the Century

9. The Party

10. My Body The Car

11. Worm and The Rattlesnake

12. Cats Eyes

13. Samson

14. Save a Mountain For Me

15. Madame Guillotine

16. Woodwork

17. Twisted Nerve

CD 3

1. Out in the Cold

2. Wet Rubber Soup

3. Cry

4. Expanding The Business / The “Dare You” Man / Hum Drum Boys In Paris / Mountain Tension

5. Cry (Single Edit)

6. Love Bombs

7. Snack Attack

8. Wet Rubber Soup (Edit)

9. Golden Boy (Remix)

10. Light Me Up

11. Golden Boy (12″ Mix)

CD 4

1. H.E.A.V.E.N./A Little Piece of Heaven

2. Don’t Set Fire (To the One I Love)

3. Golden Rings

4. Crime & Punishment

5. The Big Bang10,000 Angels

6. Sweet Memory

7. Airforce One

8. The Last Page of History

9. Desperate Times

CD 5

1. Silent Running (B-side of An Englishman in New York)

2. Wide Boy (non-album single)

3. Submarine (non-album single)

4. Marciano (B-side Submarine)

5. Babies (B-side Wedding Bells)

6. Power Behind The Throne (B-side Under Your Thumb)

7. Welcome To Breakfast Television (B-side Save A Mountain For Me)

8. A Little Piece Of Heaven (Extended Mix)

9. Bits Of Blue Sky (B-side A Little Piece Of Heaven)

10. Rhino Rhino (extra track on A Little Piece Of Heaven)

11. Hidden Heartbeat (B-side to 10,000 Angels)

12. Can’t Sleep (extra track on 10,000 Angels)


* E-Mail: